“Just Around the Corner”

0e2231229_1371653097_around-the-corner

Definition of the word close: “A short distance away or apart in space or time or In a position so as to be very near to someone or something”

You know when you can see something you want. It’s so close you can almost in a sense “touch” it. You have planned and planned for this time eagerly awaiting its arrival. Maybe even at some moments thinking, “Will this really even happen?” However all along time keeps moving pulling you closer and closer to that dream/event/purpose. It basically all comes down to the “wait”.  Ah, yes the waiting game, that we all don’t like to play. The nation we live in today is not a nation of waiting. We all live in a nation where we can get exactly what we want, when we want it. When waiting does actually have to occur, you do the math! Waiting=Unhappy people…. I must admit, I’m one of those people.

I’m doing a bible study right now on David. So when I started thinking about how my future plans are playing out, my mind instantly went to him. David did a GREAT deal of waiting. I’m pretty sure I read that David waited 15 years before he was anointed over Judah and another 7 before he was anointed over Israel! That’s a WHOLE lot of waiting and dreaming about your future. Having a promise from the Lord but not instantly seeing it. Okay let’s be real for a minute, it wasn’t even like he had to wait a few months, He had to wait 20 plus years! That’s a LONG stinking time! I don’t know that I would be able to handle that at least not gracefully.

I say all of this because I decided almost a year ago that I wanted start on a journey to become a nurse ( I just got super excited as I typed that).  It was something I prayed about and after the Lord opened certain doors, I took the steps to pursuing it.  I started taking pre-requisits last June in hopes of applying in Dec 2013. As the August session nears, I only have two session left before I apply for the program!!! I’m getting to the point where I can’t contain my excitement/I’m beginning to get a little nervous. I know this is something the Lord has placed before me. I know this is what he has in store for me BUT I just never thought I would actually get there. I wonder if David ever thought or felt like I’m feeling. If when he finally was anointed or was about to be anointed as king, if he thought hum… is this a dream? It’s been so long, it’s what the Lord promised but it seems so surreal. I must confess, I know this is what the Lord has in store for me but sometimes I just second guess the whole situation. I  have parts of me that thinks, “girl, you have not been accepted yet, you can still fail at this.”

It’s in those times that Lord reminds me who He is. He reminds me of scripture and of people like David. Yes, I’m pretty sure David had the pro status of waiting. The best part is that no matter how much pain/frustration he had to go through,  when times got tough, you know what he did? He prayed and relied on the Lord. What am I learning during this waiting period? What am I learning as this waiting period starts to dwindle down and the nerves are setting in? Exactly what Hebrews 12:2 states, “Fix your eyes on Jesus.” That I MUST bring everything to the Lord and he will fight for me.”The Lord will fight for you, you need only be still. Exodus 14:14″  I’m realizing that: He will comfort me (you) and walk with me (you) every step of the way just like he did with David. As I’m getting closer and having fewer classes that separate me from my dream of becoming a nurse this becomes even more evident. I will not make it through this process without him, the one true provider. I’m so thankful he is such a vital role in my life and that he surrounds me with people who always direct me to him.

What has the Lord been teaching you lately? What milestones have you been going through?  I wanted to leave you with this amazing song. It’s by Mandisa and it was actually just released today.My bestie’s sister talked about it on Sunday and i checked it out today. I LOVE it!

It’s a windows down, driving in the car by yourself, and singing at the top of your lungs type of song. Hope you enjoy!

One response to ““Just Around the Corner”

Leave a Reply

